I felt like writing something sad and horrifying…

… today. It’s been a bit of a difficult day. No details necessary, nothing serious, just a few challenges that were overcome, although not without effort. I felt exhausted, angry, frustrated… then I thought, “hey – I’ll write something instead”.

A short story is now in the makings, a bizarre concoction of today’s events, completely transformed and transported to another place, another time. This is one of the big reasons why I write. I need to re-think and work through some of the things that happen in real life, to create a positive out of a negative. I guess this is the fuel that powers the strange machine inside my head that constructs stories.

Now I feel relieved.

2 thoughts on “I felt like writing something sad and horrifying…

  1. Sounds like a great way to get out that frustration! I think I heard that they were running writing workshops for troubled teens to allow them to vent their feelings into writing instead of some of the more destructive things they might do to themselves or others, and that they had been very sucessful.
    Hope you have a better day today. 🙂

    • Yes, it is a great way of venting bottled up emotions. A kind of therapy, I guess, and come to think of it – many art forms are probably helpful in this manner. I’ve heard of painting workshops for troubed teens also, where they get to deal with difficult emotions through the medium of art.

      Thanks, I’m sure this day will be way much better. 😀

Leave a Reply

